Oguz Büyükberber & Tobias Klein

[busy mind of the] lonely commuter

Saturday 22 December @ Pletterij  |  21:00

Oguz Büyükberber & Tobias Klein (photo by Elisabeth Melchior)

[busy mind of the] lonely commuter is an audio-visual performance by bass clarinetist and visual artist Oguz Büyükberber and bass clarinetist Tobias Klein. lonely commuter reflects the everyday experience of solitary commuters who subliminally absorb the view from their moving vehicle while their mind wanders off to somewhere else. [busy mind of the] lonely commuter translates this experience into a performance, a shared cinematographic view of the commuter gaze and a musical interpretation of the busy commuter mind. Featured sequences of video are shot in Amsterdam, Paris, Istanbul and other places, illuminating the local facets of a universal experience.

Tobias Klein (Germany, 1967) moved to Amsterdam in 1990 and studied saxophone and bass clarinet at the Conservatory of Amsterdam with, among others, Jasper Blom and Harry Sparnaay. As a performing musician, his focus lies mainly on improvised music and contemporary jazz, enriched by his studies of contemporary composed music, live-electronics and techniques derived from African, Eastern European and Asian music. He currently (co-)leads the groups Spinifex, Almeida/Duynhoven/Klein and the duo Oguz Buyukberber/Tobias Klein. As a sideman he performs with Boi Akih ‘Liquid Songs’ and with Esra Dalfidan’s Fidan. Tobias composes for both contemporary jazz groups and for chamber music ensembles. His work as a composer is supported by the Performing Arts Fund NL.

In 2010, he was awarded the North Sea Jazz Composition Commission. Tobias has toured and recorded with many great musicians such as Jasper Blom, Joost Buis, Oguz Büyükberber, Andrew Claes, Damien Cluzel, Esra Dalfidan, Benoit Delbecq, Marc Ducret, Jozef Dumoulin, Kristina Fuchs, Oene van Geel, Onno Govaert, Mark Haanstra, Sylvia de Hartog, Gerri Jaeger, Gijs Levelt, B.C. Manjunath, Lothar Ohlmeier, Claudio Puntin, Timuçin Sahin, Emmanuel Scarpa, Chris Speed, Jasper Stadhouders, Raphael Vanoli and Teun Verbruggen.

Website: www.tobiasklein.nl